

# CHANGE

Volume XXXXXX1XVXIB

Official Newsletter of the Exchange Club of Killeen MAY 2015

Club Meets Every Monday at Noon at the Yank Sing Restaurant, CTE, Killeer

### Helping Area **Flood Victims**

Club Members Jarrod Young from Big Christina Navarrette Daddy's Backdoor BBQ and his Que 4 Kids cohorts Reyna Dockroy and Frank LaGrange provided free meals to volunteers who were helping flood Victims in Buda. Several other Exchange Club of Killeen members helped the effort with financial contributions.



Que 4 Kids is a mega fundraiser that helps our Child Abuse Prevention Center, Aware Central Texas. Plans are on-going for the Que 4 Kids 2 that will take place the last weekend in September. Remember that the Sandy's Lone Star Que 4 Kids is a community collaboration between the Exchange Club of Killeen, Big Daddy's Backdoor BBQ, Best Deal Auto Sales, Sandy's Lone Star Events and Bring Everyone In The Zone. Net proceeds are donated to support the Child Abuse Prevention efforts of our CAP Center, Aware Central Texas. More information regarding Que 4 Kids 2 will be forthcoming in future newsletters. Many thanks to Jarrod, Frank and Reyna for their support.

Right: Temple and Killeen Club Members enjoy the Texas District Convention in Tyler. Left to Right: -Clifford, Larry Holly, Geraldine Lorio, Dick Young, Cara Morris, Maureen Jouett, Kathy Clark Jones, Ursula Rushing, Nancy Lechuga and Mark Hyde.



Below: Americanism Chair Mark Hyde, West Ward Principal Maureen Adams and Texas District President Dick Young unveil the re-dedication marker at the Freedom Shrine at our Adopt A School West Ward Elementary



#### Dates To Remember.....

JUNE 15—CLUB DEVELOPMENT MEETING

JUNE 22—PROUDLY WE HAIL

JUNE 29—INDUCTION OF NEW OFFICERS

JULY 6—NO MEETING

EX-FILES May 2015 PAGE 2

# May is Freedom Shrine Month

◆ Calendar of Events

Who's In Charge?

**June 2015** 

June 1—Tyler Convention
June 8—Installation of Officers

June 6—Installation of Officery

June 15—Needs Assessment

June 22—Proudly We Hail

June 29—Prepare for new year

#### June Club Anniversaries:



None

### June Birthdays:



Mark Hyde June 2nd Lan Carter. June 4th Sandra Mendoza. June 14th



May 29 & 31—Tyler, TX The district convention was a huge success for our club. We received the Big "T" Award, Outstanding Scrapbook, Outstanding Newsletter, **Outstanding Community** Service Award, Club Builder Award and Turnaround Club Award. Those club members who attended were Dick Young, Kathy Clark Jones, Larry Holly, Ursula Rushing, Nancy Lechuga, Geraldine Lorio, Maureen Jouett, Peggy Murphey. Everyone had a great time.

## OFFICERS DIRECTORS

### and Committee Chairs 2014-2015

#### **Committees:**

Americanism......Mark Hyde Child Abuse Prevention .....Nancy LeChuga

Community Svc .......Kathy Jones Fellowship/Inter-Club/Public Relations/Bulletin.....Kathy Jones Membership.....Kenny Murray Youth.....Angenet Wilkerson

#### **Directors:**

Diane Guidry, Nancy LeChuga, Kathy Clark Jones, Kenny Murray, Ursula Rushing, and Barbara West

#### **Proudly We Hail**

Please plan to attend our annual Proudly We Hail Program on June 22. One area business and one area organization will be recognized for faithfully flying the flag this year.



# Biblical Exchange



For His anger is but for a moment, His favor is for a lifetime; Weeping may last for the night, But a shout of joy comes in the morning. Psalm 30:5

Below: Children at our Adopt A School West Ward Elementary help us with the re-dedication of their updated Freedom Shrine. Also attending (from left to right behind the children) were Assistant Principal Clifford Holder, Principal Maureen Adams, Killeen Mayor Pro-Tem Jose Segarra, City Councilmember Jim Kilpatrick, Killeen Deputy City Manager Dr. Ann Farris (former Youth of the Year for the Exchange Club of Killeen), City Councilmember Brockley Moore, Killeen ISD Trustee Shelly Wells, Texas District President Dick Young, Excel Captain Geraldine Lorio, Killeen ISD Superintendent Dr. John Craft, Club Member Richard Jouett, Assistant Principal Debbie Barkley and Americanism Chair Mark Hyde.

