Volume XXXXX1XVXB

## Membership in Killeen Club Continues to Grow

CHANG

The members of the Exchange Club of Killeen voted in eight new members at their club meeting on April 27. The board of directors had previously approved the membership and the decision went to the full club. Those whose memberships were accepted were: Laura Allen, Paul Bronke, Shirley Fleming, Lana Husband, Chong Lee, Scot McFall, Symmetha Parker, Daryl Peters and Amber Ouinene. Bronke, Lee, McFall and Quinene were sponsored by Club Vice President Don Sutton, Symmethia Parker was sponsored by Past President Geraldine Lorio, Lana Husband was sponsored by Club Secretary Christa Hudson, Shirley Fleming was sponsored by Americanism Chair Mark Hyde and Laura Allen and Daryl Peters were sponsored by Larry Holly. We started this club year with 55 members and we are now up to 57. The challenge went out for the other members to just get one.

New members will be contacted to see what committees they would like to be long to and to make sure that their memberships are fully activated. We are happy to have them as we have lots of important work to do and we cannot do it by ourselves.

#### Official Newsletter of the Exchange Club of Killeen Club Meets Every Monday at Noon at the Yank Sing Restaurant, CTE, Killeen APRIL 2015 Editor Maureen Jean Jouet

# CAP Center Aware Central Texas

Sue Ellen Jackson, Executive Director of our CAP Center, Aware Central Texas gave an inspiring speech at our April 27 club meeting. She stated that she sees herself in every client that the Center helps. She shared personal details of her life and how without her being aware, she let danger into her life. Her family and herself have been on the road to recovery but she warned that we should be ever vigilant as danger lurks in places where you least expect.

CHANGE

Below: Jarrod Young and crew are on hand with \$30,000 check from the Que4Kids



Above: Sue Ellen Jackson addressed the club at our Child Abuse Prevention Meeting on April 27



### Dates To Remember.....

MAY 12-COTTON PATCH, TEMPLE MALL-NOON TO 1 CLUB REJUVINATION

MAY 18—YOUTH OF THE YEAR LUNCHEON

MAY 23-MEMORIAL DAY PARADE-LINE UP 8, STARTS AT 9

MAY 29—TEXAS DISTRICT CONFERENCE IN TYLER, TEXAS

#### **EX-FILES**

# 60th Anniversary

Apr 2015

Calendar of Events

May 2015 May 4—Fellowship with club May 11—TBD May 18—Youth of the Year and Accepting the Challenge of Excellence Scholarship Awards Luncheon May 25—No meeting— Memorial Day Holiday

#### May Club Anniversaries:

Lan Carter 5-2-14 Shelley Richardson 5-2-14 Pete Peters 5-19-98 Brenda Smith 5-24-99

#### May Birthdays:

Edd Melton 5-1 Brenda Smith 5-22 Jim Garvin 5-31



# Biblical Exchange

Holy Bible

The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.—<u>2 Peter 3:9</u> (KJV)

#### Who's In Charge?



	L
PresidentCharlie Guidry	
President-ElectPeggy Murphey	•
SecretaryChrista Hudson	1
TreasurerMaureen Jouett	]
VP/BingoDon Sutton	•
ScrapbookBarbara West	
PhotographerLan Carter	1
Web Master Larry Holly	
Imm. Past President Larry Holly	•
Committees:	•
AmericanismMark Hyde	,
Child Abuse PreventionNancy	
LeChuga	
Community SvcKathy Jones	
Fellowship/Inter-Club/Public	•
Relations/BulletinKathy Jones	•
MembershipKenny Murray	]
YouthAngenet Wilkerson	
Directors:	•
Diane Guidry, Nancy LeChuga,	
Kathy Clark Jones, Kenny Murray,	•
Ursula Rushing, and Barbara West	

#### Invites you to attend the Texas District Convention! May 29 & 30—Tyler, TX



# Club Election Results

Immediate Past President Larry Holly was the chair of the nominating committee and prepared a slate of officers for the club members to consider. He was assisted in the vote count by club members Kathy Clark Jones, Don Sutton, and Angenet Wilkerson. The winners were President Elect Mark Hyde, Treasurer Maureen Jouett and Secretary Larry Holly. Directors were Barbara West. Geraldine Lorio and Carroll Smith. Subsequent to the election Peggy Murphey resigned as President Elect and President in this current year. Charlie Guidry agreed to stay on and Larry Holly stays on as Immediate Past President in accordance with the bylaws. Since Mr. Holly was Immediate Past President again, he resigned from the Secretary slot. The slot became open and there were three people to be considered. Two declined to serve and Maureen Jouett agreed to be Treasurer and Secretary. The appointment will go before the members on Monday to see if there will be any changes.

# Early Voting Ends on May 6

*Early voting* continues through Tuesday May 5 for the *May* 9 elections. Do not forget to turn out and select Councilmembers, Trustees and Board Members.